Posted in | Automotive Robotics

RIA to Announce Engelberger Award Winners at International Symposium on Robotics

Åke Lindqvist and Henrik Christensen will be the recipients of the Engelberger Robotics Award this year.

The award function is scheduled to take place on 22 March 2010, during the Automate 2011/42nd International Symposium on Robotics at the InterContintental Hotel in Chicago.

The Robotic Industries Association (RIA) will sponsor the Engelberger robotics awards. A commemorative medal representing their contribution in the robotics field and an honorarium of $5000 will be presented to each winner. The 2011 Engelberger Award for Leadership and the 2011 Engelberger Award for Education goes to Åke Lindqvist and Dr. Henrik Christensen respectively.

Lindqvist, who recently retired after a 37 year career, has held several senior positions in Sweden and North America headquarters of ABB Robotics.. Currently, he holds the position of the President of the International Federation of Robotics. Other prestigious roles assumed by Lindqvist include being Chairman of the Automation Technologies Council, Chairman of the Robotic Industries Association.

Christensen, the Director of the Center for Robotics and Intelligent Machines, is famous throughout the world for his contributions in the recent Roadmap for US Robotics. Christensen, who also serves as the Founding Chair of the European Robotics Research Network, is the KUKA Chair of Robotics at the Georgia Institute of Technology. He has played a vital role in the growth of KUKA's robotics developments over the years.


Tell Us What You Think

Do you have a review, update or anything you would like to add to this news story?

Leave your feedback